Skip to content
It looks like you're using an unsupported browser, which may impact upon your experience. It is strongly recommended that you switch to the latest version of Chrome, Firefrox, Safari, Edge or another modern browser.

Our 2018 awards – the details

Our 21st Annual Awards

The 2018 Awards for Achievement saw another uplift in nominations from 2017, with more than 500 people attending the awards luncheon on Friday 15th June.

Our headline sponsor for the 21st annual awards was Citi as we sought again to promote these prestigious annual awards and highlight the inspirational work taking place every day in pursuit of diversity and excellence in the banking and finance sector. Citi has been a hugely supportive and engaged member of WIBF for many years, and shares WIBF’s belief that the awards are a flagship event and opportunity to recognise the talent and achievements of women (and their male champions) in the sector, as well as WIBF’s confidence in the power of exceptional role models.

Our keynote speaker

Nicky Morgan is the Member of Parliament for Loughborough and was first elected to serve the constituency for the Conservatives in the 2010 General Election.

Nicky is the first woman Chairman of the Treasury Select Committee in the Commons.

She was born in 1972 and grew up in Surrey, before studying law at Oxford University. She worked as a solicitor specialising in corporate law, advising private and public companies from 1994-2010.

Nicky served as Secretary of State for Education and Minister for Women & Equalities from 2014-2016. She was made a Privy Counsellor in April 2014. In her first Parliament, Nicky also served as the Financial Secretary and Economic Secretary to the Treasury, an Assistant Whip, the Parliamentary Private Secretary to David Willetts at the Department of Business, Innovation and Skills, and she was a member of the BIS Select Committee.

Nicky’s interests in Parliament include the economy, Europe, children’s character/education, mental health and heritage railways. She lives in Loughborough with husband Jonathan and they have one son.

2018 winners

Award for Achievement

Winner: Alison McGregor, HSBC


  • Carolyn Porretta, AIG Asset Management
  • Claire Calmejane, Lloyds Banking Group
  • Katie Cusack, Credit Suisse
  • Raffaella Copper, Macquarie
  • Sian Hurrell, RBC
  • Susan Urkevich, HSBC
  • Tina Fordham, Citi
Sponsored by:

Champion for Women Award

Winner: Tracy Watkinson, Credit Suisse


  • Ciara Houlihan, HSBC
  • Helen Bierton, Santander
  • Jane Magill, Macquarie
  • Jim Cowles, Citi
  • Julie Baker, NatWest
  • Kirsty Moore, HSBC
Sponsored by:

Young Professional Award

Winner: Emma Margetts, Visible Alpha


  • Alexandra Fogal, Barclays
  • Ayesa Latif, Citi
  • Hayley Rosenlund, RBC
  • Olya Meier, RBC
  • Sarah Sakkej, ING
  • Simran Khanna, Citi
  • Sophie Bialaszewski, Lloyds Banking Group
Sponsored by:

Rising Star Award

Winner: Abisola Barber, Barclays


  • Amelia Bowen, KPMG
  • Gemma Guest, Lloyds Banking Group
  • Khalia Newell, Barclays
  • Rachael Coomber, RBC
Sponsored by:

Team Diversity Award

Winner: Women Connect, Credit Suisse


  • Balance Ireland Team, HSBC Ireland
  • Evolving Breakthrough, Lloyds Banking Group
  • IT’s Her Future, KPMG
  • Women in Technology, EY

Find out more